Skip navigation


Who are the ACT Libertarians?

At the beginning of 2001 a group of young Australians recognised the inadequacy of the political choices facing the Australian electorate and banded together to create a serious, progressive, small-government alternative. Since then, the Libertarian Party (formerly The Liberal Democratic Party) has achieved electoral success in a number elections including: the election of Australia’s first libertarian mayor in Campbelltown; at the Federal level with the election of David Leyonhjelm to the Senate in 2013 and 2016; the election of Aaron Stonehouse to the Western Australian Legislative Council in 2017; and two members to the Victorian Legislative Council in 2018, David Limbrick and Tim Quilty. 

The Libertarians’ philosophy sometimes confuses those who like to apply left and right labels to political ideologies. For instance, the legalisation of marijuana for personal use or support for gay marriage is often regarded as left-wing, while the outsourcing of services to the private sector and reducing taxes is considered right-wing.

The Libertarians are neither left-wing nor right-wing. We support evidence-based decision-making, and reject the protection of special interests. We are committed to transparency and accountability in government. We believe that the public has lost confidence in the way that government does business in the ACT – from land release policy, construction and development works, through to the management of licensed venues.

We believe that government money is your money and that you have the right to expect more from your elected representatives. We believe that government is a useful servant but a terrible master, and that Canberrans should have a voice that resists unnecessary intrusions into our lives and advocates for personal freedoms that the major parties have shown little desire to support.

Follow our Facebook page here.
Follow our Instagram page here. 

Join us for a branch meeting

Branch meetings are held on the last Friday of each month, commencing 6pm at King O'Malley's, 131 City Walk, Canberra, ACT 2601. If you have any questions please email us at [email protected].

ACT Executive

  • Josh Utoyo
  • Stephen Clively
    • Secretary and Treasurer
  • Guy Jakeman
  • Matt Knight
  • Scott Warhurst

The official page of the Libertarian Party in the Australian Capital Territory. Authorised by Guy Jakeman, Florey, ACT, 2615 [email protected]